Shropshire Cycling Clubs Association

Open 100-mile Time Trial






Description automatically generated



                             VTTA National 100-mile Championship


July 2nd



On a blustery day, on a challenging course, 47 riders faced the timekeeper ahead of 4 and a half laps in Shropshire countryside.


Ably organised by David Drew, Nth Shropshire Whlrs, and his support team the event was a great success.


Champions on the day Joanna Cebrat and Peter Younghusband were worthy winners with AATs of 4:02:55 and 3:35:03 respectively.


The conditions on the day drew a variety of comments from the riders mainly to do with strong head wind each lap, less so with the tail wind help!!!


Most of the riders were pleased with their efforts on a difficult day but a look at the result board showed it did little to deter the faster competitors.

Joanna finished ahead of local rider Helen Tudor who took silver.

In third place was Yorkshire member Gretchen Zoeller who was pleasantly surprised that she earned 3rd place. Gretchen is new to competitive cycling, maybe 10 months, but her enthusiasm makes me believe she will be back for more.

Joanna had suffered a poor week health wise and only decided to ride in the early hours on race day!


Peter Younghusband made the long journey from Petersfield and recorded an excellent actual time of 3:54:00. Primarily a triathlete he is looking forward to his next couple of tri competitions with greater confidence for the cycling section. Richard Shaw accepted his silver placement with grace whilst Dave Williams vowed, he would be back for the winner’s jersey.

Of the 53 entries there 6 DNS and 5 DNF. 



















VTTA Championship Results on Age Adjusted Times



  1. Gold Medal, Championship Jersey and Cap

Peter Younghusband – Petersfield Tri Club – Wessex Group              3:35:03

      2.Silver Medal                                                    


Richard Shaw – Seamons CC – Manchester and NW Group    Bronze Medal

David James Williams – Velotik RT – Merseyside Group           




  1. Gold Medal, Championship Jersey and Cap

Joanna Cebrat – 360 Cycling – Manchester and NW Group    4:02:55

  1. Silver Medal

Helen Tudor – Oswestry Paragon CC – Merseyside Group       4:22:18

  1. Bronze Medal

Gretchen Zoeller – VTTA Yorkshire                                                 4:26:00


There were no club teams on the day, but the prestigious Group award went to Merseyside holding off a strong performance from the riders from Wessex in second and in third place were Manchester & Northwest.


Group Team Winners


         Merseyside Group - David James Williams, Jonathan Mills- Keeling and Victor Chetta

         Combined time of 11:20:50, each receiving a gold medal .