The VTTA National 10 Mile Championship was hosted by North Midlands group on course O10/1. The weather was dry and sunny with a light wind. There was a full field of 118 solos and 2 tandems.

1st on AAT overall: Ken Matthews Cup: Linda Dewhurst/Ride Revolution Coaching/London & Home Counties/AAT 18:05. Linda said “It was a deceptive course that didn’t give you much in return for the effort used! Sunny hot day, little wind, grippy road surface with cheeky oval roundabout at the turn. It was my first 10 of the season, and I’d forgotten how intense they are!! Delighted with the result, and very pleased to have good form so far this season with the 30 and 10 mile championships. And to go home with the Ken Matthews Cup was amazing. Lovely atmosphere, super marshals and very friendly organisation.”

1st Open on AAT: National Men’s Champion title, Gold Medal and Championship Jersey: Richard Oakes/Team Ohten Aveas/East Midlands/AAT: 18:46; 2nd Open on AAT; Silver Medal: Andy Critchlow /Team Ohten Aveas/Surrey/Sussex/AAT: 18:55; 3rd Open on AAT; Bronze Medal: Julian Ramsbottom/Team Bottrill/East Midlands/AAT: 19:35. Richard said This was my first championship event since my serious crash breaking the hour record last September. So I was somewhat unsure as to how the legs and body would stand up to the championship test. Especially as my team mate Andy Critchlow who is flying at the moment was also riding. The organisers laid on a wonderfully organised event as ever and the weather gods offered us up a fantastic sunny day although there was a fair old head wind all the way back from the turn. As I suspected I was a little behind my usual race form with power being down on last year’s major events and Andy delivering a mid 19 which for the day and the course was outstanding. One of the brilliant things about VTTA races is that they are run on age adjusted time…giving everyone the opportunity to compete for the honours. So as I am 6 years older than Andy I was still able to compete for the win. I had to manage my effort and not burn too many matches with the tailwind out…which I did pretty well and my legs felt ok. I was then left with the tough headwind leg back home to the finish. I gave it everything in the last 2 miles just getting under 20 minutes with a 19.55 which was just enough to secure the win. There were 2 bonuses on the day in that Team Ohten Aveas with me, Andy and Martin Perret won the club team award and myself Julian Ramsbottom and Ian Guilor securing the group team win for the East mids. Many thanks to everyone who came out to help and support the event it was a great success!”

1st Female on AAT: National Women’s Champion title, Gold Medal and Championship Jersey: Linda Dewhurst/Ride Revolution/London & Home Counties/AAT 18:05; 2nd Female  on AAT; Silver Medal: Deborah Moss/Springfield Financial Racing Team/North Lancashire & Lakes/AAT 19:57; 3rd Female on AAT: Bronze Medal: Deb Hutson-Lumb/Wrekinsport CC/Merseyside/AAT 20:13.

Club team winner: Team Ohten Aveas/Total AAT 58:14/Richard Oakes, Andy Critchlow, Martin Perrett, followed by Legato Racing Team/ Total AAT 1:00:36/Joseph Costello, Steven Loraine,  Mark Hamer, and Lindsey Roads Cycling Club/Total AAT 1:01:41/Andy Thomas, Anthony Nash, Stuart Wells. 

Group team winner: East Midlands/Total AAT 58:20/Richard Oakes, Julian Ramsbottom, Ian Guilor, followed by Midlands/Total AAT 1:00:00/Joseph Costello, Ed Moss, Steven Loraine; Yorkshire/Total AAT 1:00:45/Graham Heaton City RC, Neil Cleminshaw, Tim Garwell Otley CC.

Tandem Champions: Ian Greenstreet & Rachael Elliott/Newbury Velo/London & Home Counties/ AAT 18:07              

Fastest rider: Andy Critchlow /Team Ohten Aveas/ 19:33

Open Road bike: Simon Warren/Norwood Paragon CC/ 23:21  (AAT 22:38)

Female Road bike: Samantha Bissell/City Road Club Hull/24:22 (AAT 21:51)

Age Adjusted results can be found on the VTTA website in Events/Results and About/Documents.