Details of the 12 Hour VTTA National Championship - 29 July 2012


Nik Bowlder - National VTTA 12Hr Champion The Elmet 12 was chosen by Cycling Time Trials to be the promoters of their Championship this year and the VTTA's Championship had the good fortune to be included within the event.

With Keith Lawton as the Event Secretary, a first class event was assured for Keith, as CTT National Secretary (Competitions and Development) is involved in each of the National Championships.

The audience at the Prize Presentation learned that it was to be the last Elmet 12 Hour: it came as a surprise to many that the Elmet is a club with but three members and the fact that they could promote an event like a 12 was and is astonishing.

The start card contained 69 entrants of whom 55 were veterans. Of that number, 41 were (and still are!) members of the VTTA.

An absolutely brilliant performance by 43 year old Nik Bowdler earned him the Champion's medal and the fastest award. Second was Brian Camfield, at age 64 ensuring that the much vaunted 'Level Playing Field' was evident whilst Carlos Riise (47) took the bronze medal for Scotland.

There was no qualifying team.

Veterans' Results on Standard
PosNameClubAge Std ±Time

1Nik BowdlerTeam
2Brian CamfieldStone Wheelers CC6480.88263.86
3Carlos RiiseShetland Wheelers4763.46267.05
4Dave LazenbyBaines Racing Silverstone4863.37264.84
5Mike ShacklockYorkshire Road Club6861.59237.94
6Christine McleanShetland Wheelers5159.17240.26
7Mark SandersMid Devon CC5352.45249.43
8Tony BoardmanTeam Swift5651.88245.46
9Gareth BowyerRhos-on-Sea CC4351.79260.20
10Graham BarkerCongleton CC6240.55226.47
11Cliff BeldonTeam Swift6539.00220.42
12Peter YatesOtley CC7938.86190.03
13Allen BellYorkshire Road Club6637.93217.73
14John HatfieldRavensthorpe CC6537.79219.21
15Mike RoseExeter Whs CC5637.21230.79
16Gill CraneClifton C.C. York4632.31218.42
17Paul BrierleyHuddersfield Road Club4530.89236.81
18Neil RidsdaleBridlington CC5428.35224.21
19Chris YatesOtley CC5525.67220.40
20Ian PeacockHarrogate Nova CC6024.37213.01
21Wayne FullerRotherham Whs6722.85200.96
22Derek PierceBath CC6321.01202.43
23Matthew RowleyOxonian CC4417.31224.45
24Claire JessopIlkley CC4212.08202.69
25John BaddeleyStone Wheelers CC667.48187.28