A roundup of all National and Group News

Course map for the VTTA National 25 Championships

Published by National Secretary on 28th Jul 2016

The VTTA National 25 is to be held on the new K33/25A course near Alcester on 21 August. A course map is available for those who would like to review the course on Strava:


As per the post from the Midlands Group, the HQ will be in the sports hall at The Greig, Kinwarton Road, Alcester B49 6AD.



Published by National Chairman on 7th Jul 2016

The Manchester and District Time Trials Association hosted the 28 riders competing for the 2016 100 Mile Championship. On a fine, warm day, some remarkable times were recorded which is a rare thing on the testing roads which were used.

With a combined entry of 85, it was an exacting job for Event Secretary Dave Fearon and his band of helpers and all agreed that they had performed as well any of the riders!

A splendid effort by 51 year old David Hargreaves ensured him the winner’s jersey whilst Allison Vessey in the afterglow of her placings in the Women’s Section of the 10 and 30 mile championships, took the gold medal this time. 

The VTTA extend a big thank you to Dave and his crew.

The result herewith.

David Hargreaves North Lancs RC North Lancs & Lakes 1:04:43 4:21:50
Andy Ashurst Manchester Wheelers  Manchester & North West 0:59:54 3:57:45
Neil Skellern Team Swift Manchester & North West 0:58:34 4:00:09
Darren Maironis Coveryourcar.co.uk RT Manchester & North West 0:54:02 3:55:24
Adrian Hughes Seamons CC Manchester & North West 0:52:14 4:03:20
Dan Mathers Seamons CC Manchester & North West 0:47:01 4:02:25
Howard Waller Python RT London & Home Counties 0:38:30 4:19:09
Dave Fearon Weaver Valley CC Manchester & North West 0:36:12 4:22:31
Lee Winslow Wills Wheels CC Manchester & North West 0:31:35 4:26:04
Alison Vessey Mickey Cranks Cycling Club West 0:30:46 5:06:29
Pauline Atkinson Seamons CC Manchester & North West 0:29:53 4:55:14
Edgar Reynolds Congleton CC Manchester & North West 0:27:39 4:56:25
Pierre Guern Leamington C & AC Midlands 0:25:41 4:21:35
Robin Vessey Mickey Cranks Cycling Club West 0:25:02 4:34:47
Jeanette Barber Seamons CC Manchester & North West 0:23:57 5:06:40
Jon Fairclough Woking Cycle Club Surrey/Sussex 0:21:48 4:50:12
Barrie Whittaker Lyme Racing Club Manchester & North West 0:18:41 4:48:40
Steven Drew Ashley Touring CC Manchester & North West 0:16:18 4:34:11
Ian Casson Birkenhead Victoria CC Merseyside 0:07:36 5:06:07
Rob Waghorn Congleton CC Manchester & North West -0:43:24 6:12:37
Mick Black Springfield Financial North Lancs & Lakes   DNS
Ian Cox Fogarty Insurance Tri Team North Lancs & Lakes   DNF
Greg Dancer Stone Wheelers CC Manchester & North West   DNS
Peter Greenwood Team Swift North Lancs & Lakes   DNF
John Hassall Bossard Whs London & Home Counties   DNS
John Hatfield Ravensthorpe CC Yorkshire   DNS
Stephen Longdon Stretford Wheelers CC Manchester & North West   DNF
Simon Phillips Stockport Tri Club North Lancs & Lakes   DNF