Questions and Answers

How do I work out what I need to beat?

There have been quite a few changes in recent years:

  • In 2012 the age standards were brought up to date to reflect modern performances.
  • In 2013 there was a small adjustment to the standards.  Also Standard Awards were dropped in favour of Performance Awards

As a result it's quite likely that members will be wondering how they decide what targets they need to beat in order to get a Standard Award in 2015. Here is some guidance on that:

  • Any Standard Awards gained in 2011 or before, i.e. under the old standards, can be ignored. It was agreed in 2012 that members could start with a clean sheet in 2012.
  • If you claimed for a Performance Award in 2013 or a Standard Award in 2014 then the plus or minus calculated from the time you submitted is what you have to beat in 2015.
  • If you didn't claim for a Performance Award in 2013 or 2014 but did claim for a Standard Award in 2012 then the target to beat is the plus or minus you achieved in that year. (This will have been based on the 2012 standard, which was in force at the time; you don't have to adjust it to the 2013 standard.)
  • If you didn't claim in either 2012, 2013 or 2014 then all you need to do is claim your best plus or minus in 2015.

It's possible that you have a “mixture” of performances, some from 2012 and some from 2013 and 2014 which give you your targets for 2015. That should be OK; just work out separately for each distance, using the guidelines above, what time you need to do in order to get a standard in 2015 at the distances you want to attempt.

Do I need to beat the standard in order to claim?

No, you don't. In 2012 we started to accept claims for minus times. We did this because the new standard was not as easy to beat as the old one. Following the reintroduction of Standard Awards in 2014 the NEC has decided that Standard Awards should continue to be open to riders of all abilities.

This means that:

  • If you've never claimed before, you can simply claim for your best performance on standard in the year whether or not you have beaten standard.
  • In subsequent years you will need to improve on standard in order to claim. So if you previously claimed for a minus you can claim if you achieve a smaller minus (or, of course, a plus). If you previously had a plus you will need to achieve a bigger plus.

Is there a calculator to help me with the sums?

Yes. There is a Standard Award Calculator on the VTTA website.

I’ve already applied for a Performance Award, what happens now?

Groups may handle this situation in different ways. It is expected that most will simply transfer your application to a Standards Award. If you didn’t want this to happen you would be within your rights to ask for your money back.

A Guide to Standard Awards

The 2014 Annual General Meeting voted to re-introduce Standard Awards for the coming season.  This replaces the Performance Awards which were introduced in 2013 but did not prove popular.

Many members will be familiar with Standards Awards because we have had them for many years.  However, it is worth explaining how they work for a number of reasons

  • New members may wish to see them explained
  • Even old hands may want a “refresher”
  • All members may need some guidance on what they can claim

How do Standard Awards work?

Here's how it works:

  • You can attempt Standard Awards at any of the standard distances: 10, 15, 25, 30, 50 and 100 miles and 12 and 24 hours. Attempts can be made on bicycle, tricycle, solo or tandem.
  • Standards Awards are based on how well you ride compared with the VTTA standard. If you beat standard that is referred to as a "plus". If you don't beat the standard this is referred to as a "minus".
  • To gain your Standard Award you have to improve on your previous best plus or minus for which you claimed a Standard Award. If you don't have a previous best at a particular distance you can claim your best plus or minus in the year to get you started.
  • Before you make any attempts at Standard Awards you should tell your group recorder in advance which distances you are going to be making attempts on and pay the appropriate fee. (Note, though, that some groups will accept claims at the end of the season.)
  • If your attempt is successful you will receive an engraved medal. If you get four medals or more in a season you can have an engraved plaque instead.

The above is a very simple summary of Standard Awards. The full rules are given in Regulation 3.2 of the VTTA Regulations.

Your new best plus or minus becomes the target you need to beat if you want to win another Standard Award in subsequent years. Because the age standards give you an extra allowance as you get older this makes beating your previous plus an achievable target. However, you can elect to ignore any rides done more than three seasons ago.

Standard Awards Calculator

A Standard Awards Calculator is now available to help members determine whether they are eligbile to claim for a Standard Award.

Please note this tool is not intended to be definitive proof or acceptance of a claim. Claims should be made to group recorders who will consider whether a claim will be accepted.